Awards ceremony highlights UO research excellence

Office for Research & Innovation presents 2014 Excellence Awards 

The office for Research & Innovation hosted a June 10 ceremony at the Jordan Schnitzer Museum of Art celebrating the 2014 Research Excellence Awards. Awards went to faculty in chemistry, English, anthropology and biology for outstanding research activities examining everything from alternative energy to polymers to the intersection of food and culture to the migration of our ancestors.

The awards ceremony included opening remarks from UO President Michael Gottfredson and Interim Vice President for Research & Innovation / Vice Provost Budget & Planning Brad Shelton. Shelton remarked on the breadth and depth of the award recipients and thanked members of the university community for their thoughtful and moving nominations.

Five awards were presented to seven individuals who each received $1,000 in research support and a recognition memento. Awardees will also be featured in the 2015 Oregon Research Annual Report and Outstanding Career Award recipients will present the Presidential Research Lecture on campus in the year following the award to share their outstanding work with campus colleagues.

2014 Outstanding Career Award

Eric Selker, Professor of Biology – CAS

Jon Erlandson, Professor of Anthropology – CAS, Director of the Museum of Natural and Cultural History

2014 Early Career Award

Courtney Thorsson, Assistant Professor of English – CAS

Shannon Boettcher, Assistant Professor of Chemistry – CAS

2014 NTTF – Outstanding Accomplishment Award for Independent Researcher

Richard Chartoff, Research Professor of Chemistry/Biochemistry – CAS

2014 NTTF – Outstanding Accomplishment Award for Technical Research Support

Craig Rasmussen, Scientific Software Consultant – CAS IT

2014 Innovation and Impact Award

Rob Horner, Professor of Special Education – COE, Director of Educational and Community Supports