2017 Research Administrative Excellence Awards recognize outstanding research staff members

Core Research Facility individual award winner Steve Golledge (center) with David Conover (left) and Jim Hutchison

The 6th Annual Research Administrative Excellence Awards recognized the contributions of staff within the Office of the Vice President for Research and Innovation (OPVRI) for their service and committment to the campus community.

At the ceremony David Conover, vice president for research and innovation, highlighted research and innovation achievements of the past year and thanked research administrators for their service.

The 2017 Research Administrative Excellence Award winners are:

  • Research and Innovation individual award — Mage Burmer, program technician 2, Sponsored Projects Services
  • Core Research Facility individual award — Steve Golledge, director, CAMCOR Surface Analytical Facility
  • DGA individual award — JoLynn Burdett, accountant 1, Institute of Neuroscience

The Administrative Excellence Award recognizes outstanding research staff members who consistently contribute to team goals — with a deep knowledge of their position and campus resources — as well as demonstrate overall excellence in customer service. The award is handed out to UO administrators who have contributed to advancing the goals of the university and exceeded the expectations of their managers, peers and other campus constituents. Awardees are deemed to have routinely exhibited excellent attention to detail, shown a positive attitude and met deadlines under pressure.