Women’s Innovation Network graduates 22 in second cohort

May 25, 2023
Four women seen from the side look in the same direction at a person speaking, who is not visible in the photo.
Some of the topics WIN participants learn about are the role mentors play in innovation ecosystems and how nontraditional founders can overcome barriers to entrepreneurship. This image was not created using Generative AI.

On May 30, 22 women will graduate from the Women’s Innovation Network (WIN), which pairs women who have innovative business ideas with savvy mentors. The aim of the network is to narrow the innovation gap — women are far less likely than men to found companies or bring inventions to market, not because of lack of interest or talent, but because of societal barriers.

“It has been an incredible honor to watch these 22 women develop deeper connections to one another and to themselves,” said Mandy Gettler, WIN co-lead and senior innovation asset administrator at the UO. “I have confidence that they will continue to find and develop the kinds of connections that offer them the insight and the ability to become part of a social movement dismantling the complex, non-linear problem that is the gender gap in innovation and entrepreneurship.”

The reception will be held from 4:30-7:30 p.m. in the Giustina Ballroom at the Ford Alumni Center.

Speakers include Sue Graf, a partner at Klarquist Law Firm, which focuses on patents, litigation, post-grant proceedings, trademarks, and IP counseling; Holly Mar-Conte, a childcare sector strategist representing Onward Eugene; Mandy Gettler, WIN co-lead; and Anshuman “AR” Razdan, vice president for research and innovation.

The event will also feature a fire side chat amongst Caroline Cummings, CEO of RAIN Catalysts; Nancy Pance, co-founder and co-owner of Opportunity Oregon and WIN participant; and Lance Randall, executive director of Black Business Association of Oregon. They will discuss the role mentors play in innovation ecosystems and how nontraditional founders can overcome barriers to entrepreneurship

WIN 2022-2023 Participants

  • Amy Webster
  • Anwesha Guha
  • Cathy Robinson
  • Elaine deLorimier
  • Elizabeth Budd
  • Eva Osirus
  • Eyerusalem Gebreyesus
  • Hollie Smith
  • Hope Healey
  • Johanna Koons
  • Karina Peterson
  • Kaylee Meyers
  • Kelly O'Neill
  • Liz Tate
  • Nancy Pance
  • Neeka Barooni
  • Nichole Kelly
  • Paula Gonzalez
  • Samantha Kalita
  • Sophie Navarro Matchett
  • Valerie Brogden
  • Vanessa Kempf

WIN 2022-2023 Mentors

  • Ally Wimberly
  • Ashley Espinoza
  • Brie Stoianoff
  • Chakris Kussalanant
  • Janis Weeks
  • Janne Underriner
  • Jenn Amador
  • Justin Freeman
  • Kat McCormick
  • Kathryn Carpenter
  • Katie Brown
  • Linda Hansen
  • Melissa Prestinario
  • Nicole Desch
  • Sandy Shotwell
  • Shula Jaron
  • Stacy Kraker
  • Tallmadge Doyle
  • Tamar Antin
  • Tina Guldberg
  • Wendy Morgan

During WIN's inaugural cohort, thirty-seven women participated in the program.

By Kelley Christensen, Office of the Vice President for Research and Innovation