Research Advisory Board

The Research Advisory Board (RAB) was initiated in December 2012. The overriding goal is to sharpen the UO’s focus on excellence in research and innovation, scholarship, and creative work across all divisions, schools, and colleges. While the Sponsored Research Advisory Council advises on the particular needs of faculty with extensive sponsored research portfolios, the RAB’s mission is to inform and guide the Office of the Vice President for Research and Innovation on opportunities, challenges, and strategies related to all research, with a particular emphasis on humanities and creative work, design and social sciences, and research conducted in the professional schools. 

The Research Advisory Board shall be responsible for conducting reviews of proposed and existing OVPRI centers and institutes, as well as advising the VPRI on planning and engagement of researchers across the institution, including undergraduate research opportunities, activities to spur diversity, equity, and inclusion in research, and more.

Membership on the RAB is typically on a two-year basis and should reflect the diverse research and innovation efforts across the institution. Standing members include the Vice Provost of Graduate Studies, the Divisional Dean for Natural Sciences in CAS, and the Associate Dean for Research in COE. At least one member of the RAB must be a non-tenure track research faculty appointment. The board meets at least quarterly throughout the academic year. UO faculty members engaged in research may indicate their interest in participating on the council by emailing the VPRI at

Research Advisory Board Members

Name Title/Department Email Phone
Ben McMorran Associate Professor, Department of Physics 541-346-8624  
Krista Chronister Professor, College of Education 541-346-2415  
T. Bettina Cornwell Professor of Marketing, Lundquist College of Business 541-346-8241  
Kelly Sutherland Associate Professor, Department of Biology 541-346-8783  
Paul Peppis Professor, English 541-346-7017  
Ellen Peters Professor, School of Journalism and Communication 541-346-3828  
Hal Sadofsky Divisional Dean for Natural Sciences, College of Arts and Sciences 541-346-3902  
John Seeley Professor, College of Education, Prevention Science Institute 541-346-3005  
Joseph Nese Associate Professor, Behavioral Research    
Anne Brown Assistant Professor, School of Planning, Public Policy, and Management 541-346-2112  


Office of the Vice President for Research and Innovation RAB Representatives 

Name Title/Department Email phone
Cass Moseley Interim Vice President for Research and Innovation 541-346-2090  
Kate Petcosky-Kulkarni Interim Chief of Staff, OVPRI 541-346-6239  
Emily Tanner-Smith Associate Vice President for Research 541-346-2365  
Nadia Singh Associate Vice President for Research 541-346-9308