Research Excellence

The Office of the Vice President for Research and Innovation recognizes and highlights the work of its faculty and staff members through awards and honors for the excellence and distinction of their work. Annual awards are presented across the array of endeavors that are essential to the mission of the university.

Read about the 2022 Outstanding Research Award Winners

Outstanding Research Awards

The Office of the Vice President for Research and Innovation, the Office of the Provost, and the Division of Graduate Studies annually host and sponsor the Outstanding Achievement Awards, which include the Outstanding Research Awards, the Distinguished Teaching Awards, the Williams Fellows and the Excellence Award for Outstanding Faculty Mentorship in Graduate Studies.

Outstanding Research Awardees receive commendation from the Office of the Vice President for Research and Innovation. The award includes $1,000 or $2,500 for a team in research support, a recognition memento, and a highlight of their work in internal and external communications.

A call for nominations is open to the UO campus for the four outstanding research awards listed below for the 2022-2023 year:

  • Outstanding Career Award: Tenured faculty at the associate or full professor rank (must be an active, full-time UO employee), employed by the UO for at least seven years, track record of distinguished scholarship and external recognition and support of such efforts, and national/international prominence in their field of research.
  • Early Career Award: Tenure-track assistant professor, appointed for at least three years at the UO prior to nomination, a track record of significant scholarship and emergent recognition and support of such efforts, and a productive and impactful scholarly record.
  • Career Research Faculty: Full-time, research career faculty appointment employed by the UO. This individual must have served as a PI on extramurally awarded projects submitted through the UO, have a track record of research independence, and have a substantial and impactful scholarly record OR they must have documented record of providing exceptional and innovative technical support to UO researchers.
  • Innovation and Impact Award: This award recognizes contributions by faculty and staff from all academic disciplines. The award is given to an outstanding individual or team that distinguished themselves and the university through entrepreneurial activities that resulted in innovations with a measurable societal or environmental impact and/or individuals whose broader public engagement activity has proactively shared their research or viewpoints on research and policy issues with the public via traditional and/or new media channels. These efforts reflect an important factor of our mission to create and disseminate knowledge across all disciplines and put it to work to benefit the community, the region, and the world.
  • Advancing Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion in Research Award: This award recognizes significant achievements by tenure or non-tenure track faculty or administrative staff in advancing diversity, equity, and inclusion in the research and innovation community. The award is given to an individual or team that has demonstrated leadership, impact, and advocacy to contribute to a more diverse and inclusive environment. This may be achieved through efforts to broaden participation in research, engage underrepresented communities as research partners, or develop and implement novel programming or innovations to improve the culture of our research and innovation climate. 

Selection Process

This call is open to the UO campus for nominations and self-nominations for the five outstanding research awards. Nomination letters should be no more than one page in length, unique to each nominee, and must detail the research impact on the field and the significance of the individual’s research over the past several years. Nominations also require the CV for each nominee. Where applicable, attention should be given to describing how the research portfolio has a broad impact on the discipline and beyond.

Nomination Submission Form

Nominations or self-nominations are due no later than 11:59 pm on Sunday, April 23, 2023 for consideration.

AY 2021-22 Award Winners

  • Lynn Stephen - Outstanding Career Award
  • Stephen Shoemaker - Outstanding Career Award
  • Anne Brown - Early Career Award
  • Rhonda Nese - Early Career Award
  • Jennifer Pfeifer - Advancing Diversity, Equity and Inclusion in Research Award
  • Christopher Chávez - Advancing Diversity, Equity and Inclusion in Research Award
  • Beth Stormshak - Innovation Award
  • Scott Watrous - Outstanding Accomplishment by a Non-Tenure-Track Faculty Researcher
  • Team Duckling - Impact Award

Past Winners